take a breather

Several weeks ago I heard the lyrics

“you gotta give yourself a moment, let your body be”

and I thought they were beautiful. I proceeded to purchase the song, Lose It by Oh Wonder, and listen to it on repeat. I’m one of those people. I find a new song and I play it over and over until I find a new song to obsess over. But anyways, I heard these lyrics and fell in love with this British band’s music. Little did I know I would be hearing them play live within the month.

One random day in the summer I’m sitting at work and I get a text from my friend saying, “you like halsey right”. I, of course, immediately respond with a “yes! why”. The story ends with me getting two free tickets to a Halsey concert in Madison Square Garden, for the following night. Wild, huh? Once I found a friend to attend with me, we set off and before we knew it we were center stage listening to Oh Wonder open for Halsey.

You know how some artists sound like crap when performing live, while some just sound 1000x better? Oh Wonder is one of those bands, they positively come alive when they’re on stage. I didn’t know any of their songs aside from “Lose It” prior to the concert, but as soon as I was home I purchased their entire album. They’re just that good! As was Halsey of course, but that goes without saying.

Anyway so I am now in a dreamy, hazy daze of listening to Josephine and Anthony sing songs of wonder. Their vibe is so relaxing to me, it allows me lie back and take a breather. When I’m feeling stressed or when I need to decompress I just put on my headphones and let their music take me away. I hope you all check them out. Who knows, maybe they’ll have the same impact on you as they did on me?

Till next time, xx

3 comments

  1. *off to listen to them* sounds like a great band

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve been feeling super anxious lately for no reason and this was a breath of fresh air. About to put my headphones in and drink some tea and jam out. Thanks for the soulfood!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

