Dreamy Golden Hour

It’s 5:30 AM and it’s time to get up. Sunrise starts at 6 and the sun doesn’t wait for anyone. I get up, brush my teeth, throw on some clothes, and run out the door. My walk to the Brooklyn Bridge is short, a mere 4 blocks, but it’s the entry path that nearly does me in. Over a mile stretch walking on a narrow walking/bike path until I reach my destination.

Alas, I’ve made it. I’m at one end of the bridge and now have to make the trek to the middle to meet my friends. This is a new tradition for us, waking up for sunrise on the Brooklyn Bridge. We did it last year and this is the continuation.Β Considering neither of my friends live in Brooklyn, they’re being real troopers with having to take public transportation so early in the morning. But, hey, you gotta do what you gotta do to see the sunrise.

As I’m making my way towards the middle to find them, I’m constantly looking left and right to see the sun’s progress. To the right you can see the sun starting to peek over the Manhattan Bridge, and to the left you can see the sky changing colors overthe skyline.

Finally, after what feels like hours but at most was 15 minutes, I spot one of my friends in the distance. We speed up our paces (but don’t dare run, cause we aren’t here to get our cardio in) until we finally reach each other. We hug, then proceed to sit on a bench and watch the sun’s progress.

While the sunrise was beautiful, that’s not what took my breath away. Oh no, that was the golden hour shots I captured. Anybody who knows me personally knows that sunrise/sunset is my favorite time of day. Scratch that. It’s my favorite thing ever. If you were to look at my Instagram at any given time I can assure you there will be a sunset pic within the first 6 pics you see. I can’t help it, it’s an addiction.

As the sun made its way up into the sky, I was coordinating between taking pictures and sitting to enjoy it with my friends. It was amazing; the only people on the bridge at this time of day are bikers and runners. So it’s really quite easy to snap a pic within no one in the frame, an unheard of event on the Brooklyn bridge.

Once the sun had made it through its final crawl, we got up and walked to Brooklyn Heights for breakfast. This is something I love, starting my day early and getting things done. By the time it was 9:30 we were stuffed full of eggs and avocado, and we had already been up for 4 hours! What a dream. I suggest that wherever you are in the world, you try this. Pick a day to hang with your besties before the sun comes up. Then pig out on some good breakfast food, before parting ways to continue on with your day. 10/10 would recommend.

Now here are some dreamy shots I captured on my phone!

Till next time, xx

351381436

4 comments

  1. This sounds like a dream! Beautiful photos xx
    TheButtercupBaby 🌼

    Liked by 1 person

  2. such a beautiful blog post!! i love this so much xxxx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That is one beautiful sunrise 😍

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

