fate, was it?

I just emerged from a mini life crisis. One where I didn’t know what I was doing. Thankfully, I feel so lucky for timing to have been on my side.

In a previous post I touched on divine time and how I believe in it, but to my recollection I have never experienced such a profound case of it before. This instance..truly takes the cake. I’m warning you now that this is going to be a long ramble. I’ll try to keep it to the minimum, just be aware you’re in for a novel.

As some of you may know, I started my summer doing an internship for mechanical insulation, which was great and all, just totally not what I’m interested in. That fell through, but I was lucky enough to secure another internship within the hour. Although I wasn’t working as an electrical engineering intern, I still had access to the engineers and their resources. Through this new work I found myself talking with the engineers, discussing what they do there and what they like about their jobs, etc.

And this is where the divine timing aspect started to become noticeable to me. Because through talking with these guys, I realized that I wanted to switch to mechanical engineering, something I’ve always been interested in and truly have no idea why I didn’t major in in the first place. Anyway, that was the first sign. Had my first internship not fell through I would not have come to this realization.

The next step in changing my major, after deciding to change, is getting my old adviser and new adviser’s signatures. What a hassle, right? So I got the first signature easy as pie, then proceeded to wait 3 hours for my appointment with the second adviser. 30 minutes before my appointment I decide to go to his office to see if he can take me early. He’s not there, so I wait around till my allotted time. It hits, and still he hasn’t shown up. At this point I’m pissed and don’t know what to do. Then another kid appears, and it’s his TA! He, too, has to see the professor, but as it would turn out the professor scheduled my appointment at the same time he starts teaching a class (I still don’t understand why, but whatever). So we go down to his class and I contemplate what to do for a few minutes, before I decide to head home. I wasn’t gonna wait 3 hours for his class to end so I could get his signature!

Fed up, I leave school and am standing on campus ranting to my mom and telling her I’m about to hop on the subway and head home. For some reason, though, I decide to check my email before I go down, and to my surprise he had emailed me telling me he’s free now! I was in awe, so I ran back up, got his signature, and acted like I hadn’t just been cursing him out.

The final part of my story ends with an extremely kind office worker. I rushed to the building to hand in my form, only to find out the office had closed an hour before. Luckily my knight in shining armor stepped up and oh so kindly offered to hand in the form for me the next morning. HALLELUJAH!!!! She gave me her contact info to check in with her the next morning, which I did and it all went well. My form was processed before lunch time!

I am now officially a mechanical engineering major!

Moral of this story is..wait..this story doesn’t really have a moral lesson. It’s just a tale representing how true it is that ‘timing is everything’. I’m hyped up and can’t wait for this new journey! 🙂

2 comments

  1. congrats and good luck!! /KM

    Liked by 1 person

  2. awwww congrats girl soooo proud xxxxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

