My Social Media Hiatus

What’s up yall? Today I want to talk about the social media hiatus I’ve been on, and how freeing it’s been. Exactly one week ago I deactivated my Instagram, Facebook, and deleted my Snapchat app. It was one of the best decisions I’ve made in a while. This isn’t the first time I have done any of this. During the school year as it gets closer to final exam season, I delete all my apps and block Netflix and all social media sites from my computer. The difference is that this time I did it for my own well-being, not for the sake of my grades.

You may be asking why I decided to do this. In short, social media is addicting for me. I would find that whenever I didn’t know what to do with myself or I was trying to pass the time, I would open an app and scroll endlessly. Then, before I knew it, I would have spent 2 hours looking at other people’s photos. I’m sure most of you have been in the same situation. For me, personally, Instagram is my downfall. In the blink of an eye I can have wasted hours of my day. It’s just so easy to scroll the discover page, or find an interesting person and from them find another person, etc.

I’ve always been aware of the effect Instagram has on me, but last week I was disgusted with myself. I had not yet began my internship, so I didn’t have much to occupy my day with and as a result I was lying in bed for hours looking at all the social media shit. Don’t get me wrong, social media is great, but it has its pros and cons.

What I wanted to discuss today is how free I feel on this hiatus of mine. I don’t have to constantly change my Insta default or caption (I know I don’t have to change this often but I get bored easily so I find it necessary to change it frequently). I now feel like I am taking pictures to capture the memories, not just as a potential pic to be posted so everyone can know just how great my vacation has been *note the sarcasm*.

Without social media in my life I find that I have time for so much more. I’m doing things that I’ve been wanting to do for months now. Just yesterday I sat down, got all my old paint supplies out, and had a paint party! I’m playing my instruments, just as I had hoped I would. I’m decluttering my room which, btw, is such a therapeutic experience. I’m making an effort to see friends, which is totally unlike me. Much to my mother’s disgust, I am perfectly content to spend a day at home by myself.  But anyway, enough about that.

I highly suggest to you all that you take a hiatus at some point. If doesn’t have to be a long one. You can just deactivate and go back on when you feel ready. The first couple days will feel weird cause you unlock your phone and click on where your social media apps used to be, but aren’t anymore. I’m not saying you have to totally ditch it all cause let’s be real, that’s a tough move. That’s why I decided to deactivate rather than delete. I know I’ll be going back, I just don’t know when. I think perhaps I’d like to build up enough restraint to the point where I could block Netflix and Youtube as well, but for now I’m fine with having my vices. Everyone should have something, right?

I encourage you all to try this and let me know how it goes in the comment section below! I’d love to read about your guys’ experiences.

Till next time, xx

10 comments

  1. I want to try quiting social media for a week too! sounds like such a freeing challenge

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for sharing this! Your blog is wonderful 🙂
    Everything in moderate doses right?

    Like

  3. I did this a while back, basically I deleted every social media accounts I had and never went on YouTube. It was very refreshing and I was really relaxed for that month I did

    Liked by 1 person

  4. kayla'skonfetti

    Hey, I just found your blog and am loving every post!! This one is super relatable- it’s so easy to accidentally spend your whole night with your eyes locked on your device.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

