Soaking Up the Sun

I don’t know about all of you, but from the months of September to May I seem to be perpetually stressed. Engineering school can easily do that to you. I know it’s not the case, but I feel as if I have a test or quiz or lab report due every week. Some weeks are especially brutal, with two exams on the same day. Obviously this is not something I enjoy, so when I do find myself with down time, I soak it up for everything it’s worth. Here are some of my favorite ways to enjoy my down time:

  • Exploring art galleries in Chelsea
  • Brunch dates
  • Soho shopping expeditions
  • Wandering museums & snapping pics
  • Strolling through Brooklyn Heights
  • Picnics in Central Park

During the winter months I would wake up, stretch, then proceed to grab my laptop and watch a few episodes of a show. If it wasn’t a horrendously cold day here in NYC, I would venture out with my roomie/best friend, Becca. These trips could be anything from impromptu brunch dates to shopping trips in Soho.
As the weather warmed up and it became more enjoyable to be outside, Becca and I became more adventurous on our early morning field trips. Our schedules work out perfectly so that almost every Tuesday & Thursday of the week we can go out and explore. Having days with no class rock!

Whether you lie in bed and watch Netflix all morning or go out and explore is up to you. I encourage each and every one of you to make time for yourself. Do the things you want to do. Don’t let the stress of the day or week consume you. Take a deep breath and unwind.

Leave a Reply

