Literary Ladies

This post is for all the bookworms out there, all people who love a good paperback.

I should start a book club called Literary Ladies, don’t ya think? I say ladies instead of men purely for the allieration. Obviously men can enjoy these books just as much.

Ever since I can remember, I was reading books. From the moment I got my first library card on a class field trip in kindergarten, I constantly had a book in my hand. I read everything from Junie B. Jones & Judy Blume, to the trashy teen angst books my mother hated so much. Ah, those were the good old days.

It got to a point where I didn’t even bother going to the library anymore because they didn’t update often, and I found I had read all the books that interested me. I would say this hit right around 7th or 8th grade. Then once high school started it wasn’t a matter of finding books that interested me, but rather, finding the time to read for pleasure. Of course I read a little here and there, but nothing like I had previously.

I don’t know when my love of reading started up again (not that it ever really stopped), but suddenly I found myself at Barnes & Nobles scouring the aisles for new books to divulge in. I am immensely glad I picked up my favorite hobby again, because I discovered a new love within it. This new love being memoirs.

There’s something different and amazing about reading people’s life stories. Maybe it’s the knowledge that what you’re reading is not made up; somebody lived through these events. Personally I enjoy reading the stories of struggle and overcoming hardship. Some prime examples of this, and several of my favorite books, are:

The Other Wes Moore                                         Columbine

The Color of Water                                              The Glass Castle

Angela’s Ashes                                                      Making Toast

In Cold Blood

These are just a few of my favorites. If you don’t find any of them appealing or you want a lighter read, I have a few other suggestions for you!

You are a Badass                                                     #GIRLBOSS

Bossypants                                                                Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?

For all you fiction lovers out there, I’ll try to conjur up a list for you too!

I hope you pick up at least one of these books & let me know how you like it! Now that you have a sense of the type of book I enjoy, I encourage you to leave me suggestions of what I should read next.

See you at the next book club meeting, Literary Ladies!

 

 

2 comments

  1. A Literary Ladies book club would be a pretty cool idea! I’ve always loved reading as well, it’s just a matter of making time for it. I just finished A Thousand Splendid Suns and it was a lovely read. x
    ButtercupB

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

