Feminism in the 21st Century

Something hit me today, an old thought that I’ve tamped down many times in the past. Its reappearance startled me and pushed me to write this for you all to read. I know feminism is a touchy topic, but I feel it’s one that needs to be discussed.

According to Merriam-Webster feminism is defined as “the theory of political, economic, and social equality of the sexes”. Aka the belief that men and women should have equal rights and opportunities. Urban Dictionary writes, “The basic idea of Feminism revolves around the principle that just because human bodies are designed to perform certain procreative functions, biological elements need not dictate intellectual and social functions, capabilities, and rights”.

I am not even sure where to begin. To start off, let me say that I won’t be discussing the whole realm of feminism, nor will I be discussing full thoughts on it. Feminism is a topic that could warrant a very lengthy post, and I’d like to keep this light. I am simply going to be skimming the surface; talking about the thought that’s been tamped down in my mind for so long. my

I don’t know why it hit me so suddenly again, or even why it popped into my mind in the middle of my multi-dimensional calculus class. All I can say is that the thought was there, and it wasn’t leaving.

Engagement rings. A beautiful tradition, but is it really? The whole concept behind engagement rings is so odd to me. Yes, it is a proclamation of love, but it also seems to be a symbol of ownership. It is a man staking his claim on his woman. It is him showing the rest of the world that she is his, that she belongs to him. This may seem very neanderthal-esque, but I swear it’s true.

I think part of what’s bothered me for so long about engagement rings is the double standard behind them. Why should only the woman in the relationship wear a ring? It’s not like the man is any less in love, or any less “taken”. It almost gives the man the dominant role straight off the bat. Here’s the woman, wearing her ring for all the world to see and show she’s committed. Then you look at the man. How do you know he’s in a relationship? You don’t. That’s my point. Who’s to say there aren’t engaged men out there telling woman they’re single? Yes, woman could be doing exactly the same thing, but I feel it would take more effort on the woman’s side of things. They would be conscientiously taking off their ring, knowing they had a reason to remove it. For a man it is a lot more simple. They simply leave the house and go about their day. They don’t necessarily have to give it a second thought. I’m not trying to play men out to be the bad guy here. I’m just saying that I believe engagement rings should be a thing of the past. This is the 21st century and I believe that if a man and a woman are so in love that they plan to wed, then they should just be committed to each other. Why buy the ring and buy into traditions?

If you should have any questions regarding my views on anything, comment them down below. Please keep in mind that this is my own opinion. You and I both know everyone possesses their own opinion, so please keep any negativity to yourself. Like I said, this is a difficult topic to discuss and I found it hard to put into words exactly how I feel.

If you’re interested in this topic and want to have a good laugh, check out the WomanAgainstFeminism twitter page, @NoToFeminism. I promise it’s not what it sounds like. It’s a real hoot and a half!

I want to leave you with a quote by Cleo Wade which reads, “I know power. I have watched a hurricane from the center, I have seen a woman be a woman”

 

2 comments

  1. Alice

    The man does wear an engagement ring too doesn’t he?! In my country at least the couple exchange rings during their wedding and they both wear them! I’m so confused is this not the case everywhere???

    Like

    • Hi Alice, sadly the guy does not wear a ring during the engagement time. It is only once the couple is married, that he wears a wedding band. I am just referring to the time before the couple is married.

      Like

Leave a Reply

