Meaningful Words

A good quote can make my day. I am constantly scrolling through Tumblr and Instagram finding new ones. The love for them is so real that I have several “notes” in my phone with quotes and definitions to words. Might I add that several of the words are not from the English dictionary. Sometimes the English language doesn’t have a word to describe a feeling, and so I turn to other cultures.

Over the past few years I have collected a sufficient list of words, and now I would like to share some of my favorites with you all. Be prepared for a long list! I hope you enjoy ❤

“ We live on a blue planet that circles around a ball of fire next to a moon that moves the sea, and you don’t believe in miracles? ”

“ Love her, but leave her wild “ – Atticus

“ In a gentle way, you can shake the world “

“ but I have promises to keep, and miles to go before I sleep “ – Robert Frost

“ I wish to live a life that causes my soul to dance inside my body “

“ She turned her cants into cans and her dreams into plans “

“ I took a deep breath and listened to the old bray of my heart. I am. I am. I am “ – Sylvia Plath

“ In the midst of winter, I found there was, within me, an invincible summer “ – Albert Camus

“ Starve the ego, feed the soul “

“ They say every atom in our bodies was once part of a star…maybe I’m not leaving…maybe I’m going home ”

“ Someone told me there’s a girl out there with love in her eyes and flowers in her hair “ – Led Zeppelin

Meraki – to do something with soul, creativity, or love; the essence of yourself that is put into your work

Eunoia – beautiful thinking; a well mind

Kaze hikaru – a warm breeze of spring that follows after dark cold winter, comes and breezes gently upon the skin, as if like a shining radiance

Komorebi – sunlight that filters through the leaves of trees

Nefelibata- – “cloud walker”; one who lives in the clouds of their own imagination or dreams; one who does not obey the conventions of society, literature, or art

Kalon – beauty that is more than skin deep

Now this list may seem endless, but these are only a small portion of what I have saved. Let me know which one you enjoy the most! If you have any quotes you think I may enjoy, feel free to leave them in a comment below.

Till next time, Lindsay xx

Leave a Reply

